Skip to start of content

HomeAbout us →The Criminology Research Advisory Council

The Criminology Research Advisory Council

The Criminology Research Act 1971 provides for a Criminology Research Advisory Council that advises the Director of the AIC on strategic research priorities for the AIC, communications and the effective dissemination of crime and criminal justice information and makes recommendations as to the grants to be made by the Director each year under the Criminology Research Grants program.

The Advisory Council consists of nine members who represent the Australian Government and all states and territories. This composition ensures that areas targeted for research funding reflect both national and state/territory priorities.

The Australian Government representative is appointed by the Attorney-General; state and territory representatives are appointed by the Attorney-General of each state or territory. The Council meets at least three times a year.

Members of the Advisory Council as at 26 July 2019:

If you see this message you are probably using an old browser: these pages should be readable, but we recommend updating to a modern browser.